Divorce Records South Carolina Online Provider

Divorce is becoming common nowadays. If you want to find out if someone has been divorced in the past, you can browse through Divorce Records South Carolina. The Freedom of Information Act passed in 1966 entitles free access to these legal documents. One can find out whether the divorce was actually granted or not. However, the state has imposed restrictions regarding request for a certified copy of such legal document. Those who are eligible to apply are the adult children of the divorced person, a present or former spouse, and a legal representative with an authenticated government issued photo ID stating the motive of request.

Divorce records since 1962 are available at the state’s Department of Health and Environmental Control, Office of Vital Records. If you want to obtain a copy of the official document, you must fill-out an application form which you can download from the Internet. Make sure that you indicate all the necessary information as to the name of the husband and wife, your relationship, your contact details and a legible copy of your photo ID.

For walk-in applicants, the average processing time is from 30-45 minutes. A standard searching fee of $12.00 will be collected but this amount is non-refundable if the record cannot be located. If you want to get another copy of the same file, you have to pay an additional amount of $3.00. If you are applying by mail, you have to wait for 2-4 weeks before the official papers will be delivered to you. In case you urgently need such document, the agency also caters to those who wish to avail of the expedited service. You only make an additional payment of $5.00 for each copy. The Vital Records Division will respond to your request within 3-5 working days. It will be in the form of a letter, a telephone call, or a certification being mailed.

Reports of divorce proceedings since 1949 can be obtained from the Clerk of Court where the petition was granted. The applicable fee for each copy of the official document varies from county-to-county.

You can also request for a copy of a divorce certificate through an online records provider authorized by the state. An additional cost of $9.50 will be charged along with the standard state fees. However, only the person named on the legal paper may order online.

A person’s need for a divorce record varies from personal to financial. It’s a good thing that Divorce Decrees Public Record are accessible anytime, anywhere through the Internet. Online records providers are rapidly increasing so there are a lot of sites you can choose from that suit your need. So, if you are one of those individuals who went through failed marriages but would want to give it a second chance, make sure to do background check on your possible partner. The best way is to make use of public divorce records available online. You will save yourself from waiting for long hours and going to public offices and other establishments because you will get facts in an instant.

Real Estate Moguls

Tags: